top of page

So many stories, so many memories ... where do I start

Back in December 2015 I did a road trip from Cape Town to Knysna. For those of you, outside South Africa - Knysna is one of South Africa's most scenic towns, situated in the Garden Route and about 5 hours drive from Cape Town. We are very fortunate to own a property there and it's always a pleasure to break away for a few days, to relax in the tranquil atmosphere of the Knysna Forest.

As a young teenager it was my wish to become a journalist and author, but at that stage things didn’t work out. Many times in the years following, I had the urge to write stories. On this particular day, a week before Christmas, God spoke so clearly to me and said: "Your time has come. It's time that you take up your pen and write down the many stories, the many memories, that you’ve cherished over the last couple of years, since getting involved in ministry.

Perhaps you also had a dream that you would like to accomplish, but it never came to pass. Maybe you thought that you won't be able to do it, that you're not gifted enough to do it and you just buried it in a little box, somewhere in your mind.

I would like to encourage you today - never give up your dream. Write it down, work out strategies of how you can reach it - take it step for step. Set yourself small goals - if you have to get formal qualification before you can start living your dream, enroll yourself at an institution and work towards that goal. From there, take it step by step.

When God spoke to me that day, I listened to His voice. Within hours after I arrived at my destination,

I wrote the first chapter of my book. I was nearly finished, when my father passed away and for some or other reason, could not finish the book. Exactly two years after I had this vision of writing my book I was listening to a radio program, while waiting for my husband in the car. I instantly understood why I was not ready to finish off the final chapter of my book at an earlier stage. I went back home, grab my laptop and immediately sat down to write. Nevertheless to say that my family had to prepare dinner for themselves that night, but the finale was in sight. Six months later the book was launched.

Thus, never give up on your dream. "Believe you can and you're halfway there." Theodore Roosevelt

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page